🔍 Read the full analysis: What OpenAI Changed In ChatGPT Pro’s Limits And Tiers on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
TL;DR
OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to the $200 ChatGPT Pro tier and increased Work and Codex allowances on its $100 and $500 Pro plans. The limits apply to a shared Work-and-Codex allowance, not every ChatGPT feature; prices and Plus usage are unchanged.
OpenAI canceled a planned cut to ChatGPT Pro 200 usage and increased the shared Work and Codex allowance on its $100 and $500 Pro plans, according to release notes published October 29. The changes took effect immediately, leave plan prices unchanged and do not raise every ChatGPT limit: the weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500 remain the same.
OpenAI’s release notes say Pro 100 and Pro 500 now have twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. ChatGPT Work, used for longer research and document tasks, and Codex, OpenAI’s coding agent, draw on the same allowance. The change expands that shared pool rather than applying a blanket increase to all activity in ChatGPT.
For Pro 200, the planned reduction was canceled. OpenAI’s updated help page says subscribers on the lower allowance now receive twice as much, bringing it up to the higher allowance already available to some subscribers. Those who already had the higher allowance keep it. OpenAI’s September scale described the lower Pro 200 allowance as 10 times Plus usage and the higher one as 20 times; the change restores the lower group to the higher level rather than doubling every Pro 200 subscriber’s allowance.
OpenAI also says Business Premium usage is increasing, but its release note does not specify a multiplier. A post by OpenAI product executive Thibault Sottiaux said the tier’s limits were doubling. The company’s updated help page provides a more limited account of which limits changed, so the exact Business Premium increase is not established by the release note.
Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026
What each ChatGPT plan gets now.
OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.
Pro 100$100 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- No Ultrafast
Pro 200$200 / month
Cut cancelledRestored- Higher allowance: you keep it
- Lower allowance: doubled to match
- Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one
Pro 500$500 / month
2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
- Only Pro plan with Ultrafast
Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat
Moreno factor publishedIncreased- Release note: usage “increasing”
- Tibo’s post: “doubling”
- No five-hour limit
Plus$20 / month
SameUnchanged- “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)
Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free
—Not mentioned- Not part of the 29 Oct notes
What “Work and Codex” means
- ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
- Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
- Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan
What did not double
- Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
- Plus usage, and every price
- Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately
Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers
Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI
More Room for Work and Coding
The update gives subscribers more capacity for long-running work and coding tasks without changing monthly prices. For people who had faced a scheduled Pro 200 reduction, the reversal also avoids a smaller allowance at the same $200 monthly price. Existing subscribers receive the new allowance automatically, OpenAI says, without waiting for their next billing date.
The distinctions matter for anyone choosing a tier or budgeting team access. Twice the allowance does not mean twice as much completed work: OpenAI says usage varies with the model, task and speed mode. Nor does a larger Work-and-Codex pool increase Pro 100 or Pro 500’s weekly GPT-6 Pro message limits. Companies comparing seat costs should also distinguish subscription usage from API budgets, which are separate.
The change may affect which plan is worthwhile for users who regularly reach Work or Codex limits, but it does not, by itself, establish that a more expensive tier is a better value for a particular person. OpenAI’s guidance is to check usage; readers should compare their own activity with the allowance and features of each tier.
Products Worth Considering

Logitech MX Mechanical Wireless Illuminated Keyboard Tactile (Graphite)

Logitech MX Keys S Wireless Keyboard, Graphite

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Bluetooth Headphones with Active Noise Cancellation, Mic, USB‑C Charging, Deep Bass, 24‑Hour Battery – White Smok
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
The September Plan Reversal
The change follows a series of adjustments to OpenAI’s Pro plans. On September 10, OpenAI paused new sign-ups for the $200 plan. TechCrunch reported that Sottiaux linked the move to demand for the company’s GPT-6 Astra model, describing that demand as “really unprecedented.” That explanation was his characterization, not a usage figure published in the October release notes.
OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and introduced a $500 tier on September 29, the day of its DevDay conference. A release note said included usage allowances were changing and that affected users would receive an email, while the $200 monthly price would remain. Sottiaux then described a new allowance ladder on X: Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, while saying some existing subscribers would keep a 20X multiplier temporarily. The October 29 reversal changed that plan before the scheduled Pro 200 reduction took effect on October 30.
OpenAI’s October 29 entry, titled “More Work and Codex usage on Pro and Business Premium Plans,” also appeared in the ChatGPT Business release notes. The company’s help page supplies further tier details, including which limits remain unchanged.
“We are doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today.”
— Thibault Sottiaux, in a post on X
Business Limits and Usage Detail
The exact size of the Business Premium increase remains unclear in OpenAI’s release note, which says usage is increasing without giving a number. Sottiaux said it was doubling, but the company’s public help information does not provide that same multiplier. OpenAI has not supplied a tier-by-tier usage table in the cited material that resolves the difference.
It is also not possible to translate a doubled allowance into a fixed number of tasks or completed projects. OpenAI says consumption depends on the model, the task and the speed mode. The October 29 notes do not announce changes for Business Standard, Go or Free; that absence should not be read as confirmation of their future limits.
Other limits remain distinct from the Work and Codex pool. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged, Pro 100 and Pro 500 retain their weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits, and the lower Pro 200 weekly limit now matches the higher one. Its always-on Dots agents retain extended limits “for now” and are counted separately.
Check Plan Limits and Usage
OpenAI says the revised allowances are applied automatically to existing subscribers, with no action required and no need to wait for renewal. Subscribers can check their account’s usage information to see how the change applies to their plan. Prospective subscribers should compare the relevant limits and features rather than assume that every ChatGPT activity has doubled.
For organizations, the immediate practical step is to review seat assignments and usage needs, while keeping ChatGPT subscription allowances separate from API budgets. OpenAI has not announced another date for a limit change in the material cited here. Further clarity on the Business Premium multiplier, or changes to other tiers, would depend on later company guidance.
Key Questions
Which ChatGPT plans received a larger Work and Codex allowance?
OpenAI says Pro 100 and Pro 500 now receive twice their previous shared Work and Codex allowance. Pro 200’s planned reduction was canceled, and subscribers on its lower allowance were raised to match the higher allowance.
Did every Pro 200 subscriber get twice as much usage?
No. OpenAI says only subscribers on the lower Pro 200 allowance doubled. Subscribers who already had the higher allowance keep it.
Did OpenAI raise all ChatGPT limits?
No. The update concerns Work and Codex usage and specific Pro 200 limits. OpenAI says Plus usage is unchanged and Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits remain unchanged.
How much did Business Premium usage increase?
OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not give a number. Thibault Sottiaux said it was doubling in a post on X, but the company’s help page does not specify that multiplier.
Do existing subscribers need to take action?
No. OpenAI says existing subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for their next renewal.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
